your razor smile cutting to the bone"

Artist: Queensryche

Genre: Progressive Heavy Metal

Country Of Origin: United States

Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Member: No

Album: Empire

Released: August 20, 1990

Producer: Peter Collins

Singles: Jet City Woman/Another Rainy Night (Without You)/Silent Lucidity/Empire/Best I Can/Anybody Listening?

Song Of The Week: Hand On Heart

RIAA Certification: Triple Platinum

Album Cover: 8/10

I've been doing this AOTW for over 2 years now and I noticed I hadn't featured Queensryche.  You remember them, they used to be killer.  Despite the mess that they are right now, this album is my favorite from them.  The album hit the Top 10 (number 7) in the U.S. with the single Silent Lucidity also reaching Top 10 status (number 9).  The album has been certified Triple Platinum and has now been re-released twice.  The re-issue from 2003 contained 3 bonus tracks, while the 20th Anniversary release in 2010 contained the same 2003 14 track remaster along with a 10 track bonus disc of live material.

I had lost this disc for a while.  I don't know where, but a few weeks ago I picked up the 2003 remaster at Best Buy.  This album is fantastic from top to bottom.  Not a bad song in the bunch.  It's full of hooks and melodies and some really good guitar work.  As good as the guitar playing is on this, what stands out even more to me are the bass playing and the drumming.  How come nobody ever brings those two things up when talking about this album?  And, the bonus is that at the time this album was released, Geoff Tate still actually sang his lyrics.  And I never realized that so many singles were released.  I guess it was Def Leppard syndrome.