Classic Rock Bottom

ALBUM OF THE WEEK # 353 DON HENLEY - BUILDING THE PERFECT BEAST (1984)

Disclaimer: All info that does not reside in my brain is gathered from wikipedia.com (mostly because Jon can't stand it) unless otherwise noted.

1984, the year I graduated from high school.  Seems like a million years ago, but it also seems like 2 months ago. This week's Album of the Week comes from 1984.  It's Building The Perfect Beast by Don Henley.  Just a few years removed from the breakup of his previous band, The Eagles, Henley put together a pretty impressive release.  The album features Henley's collaboration with Mike Campbell, Benmont Tench and Stan Lynch of Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers fame.  Lindsey Buckingham also played some guitar and performed some backing vocals on the album.  Charlie Sexton, Steve Porcaro, Belinda Carlisle, Patty Smyth and J.D. Souther are other famous names that were credited on the record.

The Beast is anchored by the lead track The Boys of Summer.  Did you know that Henley borrowed the drum sound from Pat Benatar's Love Is A Battlefield?  Next time you hear that song, listen to the drums.  That song reached number 5 on the Billboard Hot 100 and the video won numerous awards, including MTv's Video of the Year for 1985.  All She Wants To Do Is Dance hit pretty big as well, topping out at number 9 on the same Billboard chart.  Another Top 40 hit from the album is Sunset Grill.  Personally, I'm a fan of both You're Not Drinking Enough and A Month Of Sundays, the latter of which appeared on cassette and CD versions of the album, but not the vinyl version.  

The album itself rose to number 5 in the USA, while it was certified at Triple Platinum by the RIAA.  That's certainly not shabby work.  It's quite cheap on Amazon these days.  A small sum of $4.99 would purchase this copy for you, if you don't already own it, of course.  

Tracks:

1. The Boys of Summer

2. You Can't Make Love

3. Man With A Mission

4. You're Not Drinking Enough