Classic Rock Bottom

Disclaimer: All info that does not reside in my brain is gathered from wikipedia.com (mostly because Jon can't stand it) unless otherwise noted.

I have chosen Avalon by Roxy Music as your CRB Album of the Week this week.  I have to be honest and tell you I have no personal experience with the band.  So I'm just going to tell you some stats from the album's performance and post the album.  

Avalon is the band's eighth and final studio album.  It was the band's best performing album from a commercial standpoint, as it reached number one in the U.K.  However, it only climbed to 53 in the United States.  It sold well, managing a Platinum certification in the US.  Three singles (Avalon, More Than This and Take A Chance With Me) did not perform well in the US, with the title track not charting at all and the other two not cracking the Top 100. They did perform much better in The United Kingdom.

The album is available new on Amazon in a reissued, remastered format (no bonus tracks) for eleven dollars and change.  You can also find it used on Amazon for about six dollars with shipping.

Side One:

1. More Than This

2. The Space Between

3. Avalon

4. India

5. While My Heart Is Still Beating

Side Two:

6. The Main Thing

7. Take A Chance With Me

8. To Turn You On

9. True To Life

10. Tara

Views: 99

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I remember this album being fairly big, kinda surprised that it "only" reached #53 here. But it did hit platinum so there were obviously says and must have been some longevity as well. Compared to other RM albums, this is a bit more mainstream but it is a fine listen. Very proficient, almost like in a Steely Dan sorta way. Even though it's not really pronounced here, Phil Manzanera is a really good geetarist. Great album.