Classic Rock Bottom

ALBUM OF THE WEEK #180 BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN - BORN IN THE U.S.A. (1984)

Artist: Bruce Springsteen

Genre: Rock

Country Of Origin: United States

Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Member: Yes

Album: Born In The U.S.A.

Released: 1984

Producer: John Landau/Chuck Plotkin/Bruce Springsteen/Silvio Dante

Best Songs: Born In The U.S.A./Cover Me/Darlington County/Downbown Train/I'm On Fire/No Surrender/Bobby Jean/I'm Goin' Down/Glory Days/Dancing In The Dark/My Hometown

Disclaimer:  All "facts" come from wikipedia.com unless otherwise noted.

I really don't understand the disdain for Springsteen here on Classic Rock Bottom.  But it's definitely present.  And although I know it's useless to try and change your mind (after all, you like what you like and you dislike what you dislike), I am posting my favorite Springsteen album this week.  It's from 1984 (the year I graduated from high school) and it's called Born In The U.S.A.

It was a massive album.  It opened up Springsteen's music to the masses, myself included. The article in Wikipedia regarding the album has tons of tidbits, so I'll just mention a few of them here.  And as you can see from above, I am a big fan of this album.  The only song I'm not crazy about is Working On The Highway.  

• Born In The U.S.A. is certified 15 X Platinum by the RIAA (Diamond status).
  • It was Springsteen's second number 1 Billboard album.
  • It was the best selling album of 1985 according to Wikipedia.
  • It produced a record-tying 7 Top 10 singles (tied with Thriller by Michael Jackson and Rhythm Nation 1814 by Janet Jackson).
  • The highest charting single was Dancing In The Dark at number 2.
  • It became the first compact disc manufactured in the United States.
  • It spent 4 weeks at number one before being edged by Prince's Purple Rain, which spent 24 weeks there.  During that time, the two albums were numbers 1 and 2 for 18 consecutive weeks, which is still a record for static top 2 albums.