Classic Rock Bottom

ALBUM OF THE WEEK #183 UFO - OBSESSION (35TH ANNIVERSARY - 1978)

Artist: UFO

Genre: Rock

Country Of Origin: Great Britain

Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Member: No

Album: Obsession

Meet The Band: Phil Mogg (Vocals)/Michael Schenker (Guitar)/Paul Raymond (Rhythm Guitar/Keyboards/Vocals)/Pete Way (Bass)/Andy Parker (Drums)

Producer: Ron Nevison

Best Songs: Only You Can Rock Me/Ain't No Baby/Lookin' Out For No. 1/Cherry/You Don't Fool Me/One More For The Rodeo/Born To Lose

Disclaimer:  All "facts" come from wikipedia.com unless otherwise noted.

I guess since I've been torturing Jon and Scott by posting Springsteen and Bon Jovi in two of the last three weeks that I'll make 'em quite happy this week.  Yep, instead of Poison, your Album Of The Week is Obsession by UFO.  I will once again say I'm quite new to UFO. The first album by them I bought was the most recent, Seven Deadly.  I've gone back and picked up a box set from the early years and now I want more.  This is great stuff.

It's just straight forward rock.  Vocalist Mogg has a distinct voice (especially now that he's much older).  And do I need to even mention the guitar playing here?  I don't think so. Like I said earlier, every time I hear a UFO album I want to strengthen my collection.  I have six studio albums now, but as soon as I get my Amazon cards for Christmas, I have two 5 album box sets lined up to purchase, which would only leave me 5 studio albums short of the entire catalog.  

Enough about me, go get this album if you don't already have it.  It's fantastic from start to finish.

1. Only You Can Rock Me

2. Pack It Up (And Go)

3. Arbory Hill

4. Ain't No Baby

5. Lookin' Out For No. 1

6. Hot 'n' Ready

7. Cherry

8. You Don't Fool Me

9. Lookin' Out For No. 1 (Reprise)

10. One More For The Rodeo

11. Born To Lose

Views: 171

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion